slow cooker chicken and dumplings


Would you believe that I have never had chicken and dumplings before? In fact, I didn’t really know what it was. For some reason, I pictured some sort of chicken soup with Chinese style dumplings in it. How’s that for crazy?

I stumbled upon a slow cooker recipe for some on Pinterest, but was a little put off by it using canned cream of chicken soup. Not a fan. I started browsing for various recipes and they all seemed to include some sort of canned soup until I found this recipe.  I figured the ingredients were pretty straightforward and somewhat wholesome, despite it containing more butter than I usually use in one meal.  I was working from home today and decided to give it a try. I made a few changes I thought would improve the recipe. I think they did. I mean,…I added wine. Can’t go wrong!

The result was a fairly uncomplicated, tasty meal that both the adults and kids enjoyed. It wouldn’t be the best recipe when I’m actually at work since the dumplings needed the whole cooking time to be ready, but it’s a great weekend meal when I’m around for the last stage of cooking.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings
1 sweet onion, diced
1 cup chopped carrots
4 medium-large Yukon gold potatoes
2 garlic cloves, minced
1.5 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut up into chunks.
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon flour
32 ounces (about 4 cups) low-sodium chicken stock
1/2 cup dry white wine
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour
1/2 cup half and half (I used 5% cream)

dumplings
1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons cold butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 cup milk (whole, 2% or 1%)

Layer the onions, carrots and potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot. Season your chicken breasts with a little salt and pepper then lay them on top.

In a small saucepan, melt your butter over medium heat. Add garlic and cook for about 30 seconds stirring occasionally. When the butter starts to bubble, whisk in 2 tbsp of flour and cook for 2-3 minutes until it turns golden in colour. You’re making a roux. Add 2 cups of chicken stock and bring to a boil. Cook for 2-3 minutes, add wine and cook for another 3 minutes. Remove from heat and pour into crock. Add the remaining broth, cover and cook on low for 6 hours.

After the 6 hours are up, turn the crock pot on high. Stir the cream into the pot and stir. Replace lid and cook while you prepare the dumplings.

In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and pepper. Cut in the butter using a pastry cutter, to knives or your fingers. You want the butter to be broken down into small pebbles in the flour. Add the milk and stir until a sticky dough forms. Add small scoops of the dough in the crock pot (about 1 tbsp in size) placing them along the outside of the crock first then the inside. Cover and cook for another 1-1.5 hours, until the dumplings are soft and cooked through.

Serve immediately and enjoy!

DSC_0457

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “slow cooker chicken and dumplings

  1. RnR

    I’ve never had it either! I always want to try it out sometime. Maybe now I will!

Leave a Reply

