Weekly Meal Plan (Week of Feb 26th)


Saturday night was exciting in our household this week.While G fell asleep putting the boys to bed,  I sat down with a nice (read: big)  glass of wine, my iPad, cookbooks and the weekly No Frills flyer. I proceeded to drink copious amounts of wine and figure out what to feed my wards this week.  And so, I came up with this:

Au menu cette semaine…

Bow tie pasta with ham and broccoli

Slow cooker roast beef with balsamic onions, maple glazed carrots and fresh biscuits

Cashew nut chicken served over basmati rice

Maple-soy marinated salmon, basmati rice & green beans

Chicken noodle soup in the slow cooker with grilled cheese & apple sandwiches

Roasted pepper & ham Quiche with garden salad

I don’t normally plan specific days for my meals and usually prepare whatever tickles my fancy either the night before or the morning of.  I find it much easier to actually stick to a loose plan than a rigid one. That way, if I’m really not in the mood for a particular meal or if that day’s events don’t go as planned, I’m not forced to prepare a specific meal.  I’ll try to share each recipe daily as I cook it. If you’re interested in a particular recipe before I actually post it, feel free to let me know and I’ll be more than happy to send it to you.

Sundays are normally my grocery shopping and meal prepping day. I try to get as much as I can ready for the week’s meals: washing & chopping veggies, cutting up and marinating (it is important to point out here that spellcheck tried to make me changing marinating to urinating…) meats before freezing, cooking a larger batch of  soup or pasta salad for lunches, etc. Today, I made chicken stock (chicken backs and legs were on sale!) for this week’s soup. I meant to roast my bell peppers for the quiche but forgot. I also tried a recipe a friend snapped up on Pinterest. Figuring they would be a hit with the boys, I attempted to make this recipe: Sweet and Salty Roasted Chickpeas. Even though they looked deliciously fabulous,

these poor chickpeas were not, as I’d anticipated, well received by the kids. If memory serves correctly, my youngest stood in the kitchen making spitting sounds. As I looked over at him, he may, or may not, have been vigorously wiping his tongue with his sleeve, a spoon and certainly not a tea towel…

2 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

2 responses to “Weekly Meal Plan (Week of Feb 26th)

  1. RnR

    I saw that recipe on Pinterest too! Glad I didn’t waste my time and money trying it out!!

  2. kathy mergulhao

    Thanks for the laugh. I’m not as oirganized as you but maybe the big glass of wine would help!

Leave a Reply

