Slow cooker Sirloin roast with balsamic onions


Tonight I used up the last bit of beef I had from the previous cow we bought and made a really tasty roast with balsamic onions. I had never tried the recipe before but was really glad I did. It turned out really well, although I did let the meat cook a little too long and it turned out a bit drier than I would have liked.  As a side, I roasted some asparagus, served it all over some leftover mashed potatoes and paired everything up with some warm buttery biscuits.

We’re really lucky to live so near a great fruit & veggie market nearby. There’s one up the street, a minute’s walk at most and it has the best produce and the cheapest imaginable prices. I don’t usually plan side veggies in my meal plan and often walk over after work to pick up what looks freshest or what seems to be the cheapest. Carrots were moved to the back burner tonight when I noticed that asparagus was a buck a bunch.  It was a bit woody but I for the price, even half stems of asparagus was worth it. I love the stuff and so do the two little ones. I just chopped off the tougher stems and put them aside for soup; for such a steal, I can’t really complain.

My biscuits were a bit of a disaster and were a giant globby mess while prepping them. I gave up trying and just poured the goopy dough into mounds on my baking sheet. I ended up with scone-like biscuits and despite their non-biscuit shape, they were quite tasty. How could they not be with 6 tablespoons of butter?!

Slow cooker Sirloin roast with balsamic onions

3-4 lbs boneless roast
1 tbsp Montreal Steak Spice (or any steak rub really)
1 tbsp olive oil
A few glugs of white wine
1/2 cup water
1 large sweet onion, sliced
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup tomato sauce

Slice onions and place in Crockpot.

Season all sides of roast with steak spice. Heat oil in large skillet over high heat and sear each side of the roast until browned. I like to play the “How long can you leave the roast on one side without touching it to get the best sear? –game. I always lose.

Place browned meat over onions then deglaze the pan with the wine and water (if you’re like me, use more wine… less water. Mmmmm.) Pour the deglazing liquid in the Crockpot over the beef.

In a small bowl, mix the vinegar and tomato sauce. Pour over beef. Cover and cook on low for 5-7 hours. Closer to 5 for a smaller roast. Mine was on the larger side and 7 hours was a bit too much.

 

Oven-roasted Asparagus

2 bunches of fresh asparagus, trimmed (about 2 lbs)
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt
Pepper

Pre-heat oven to 425 F.

Break off the touch ends of the asparagus and trim if they’re really thick. Place them on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil then toss to coat. Spread in a single layer on sheet and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast the asparagus for 12-14 minutes until tender but crisp.  For additional yumminess, grate some fresh parmesan over the asparagus and pop in the oven for another 30 seconds or so!

 

And here’s the recipe I used for the biscuits: http://www.food.com/recipe/southern-buttermilk-biscuits-26110

 

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Slow cooker Sirloin roast with balsamic onions

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan (Week of Feb 26th) | mealtime mayhem

  2. familydocinthecity

    You need to open a restaurant. That presentation is amazing! Looks YUM too!

Leave a Reply

