Roasted pepper & ham Quiche with garden salad


It’s Friday and while all I really wanted to do is park myself on the couch, big ol’ glass of wine in hand and order Thai food in, I was good… and poured myself an even bigger glass of red wine and got started on dinner.

Except that I accidentally skipped over a step in my recipe and only realized halfway into prep that it would take a lot longer than anticipated to cook. The boys were whining and hungry and, in a moment of weakness, I gave in to their pleas for goldfish crackers. A lot.of goldfish.crackers. Guess who didn’t eat their meal?

Roasted pepper & ham Quiche

2 bell pepper, sliced in half (I used 1 green and 1 red)
1 medium-sized sweet onion, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp olive oil
3 medium potatoes, shredded
1 tbsp butter, salted
2 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
1 cup sharp cheddar, shredded
1/2 cup evaporated milk (or light cream)
5 eggs
salt & pepper, to taste

Turn on broiler. Slice bell peppers in half (remove seeds!!) and place on baking sheet. Slice onion, mince garlic and toss in olive oil. Place on baking sheet next to peppers. Place sheet under broiler and broil onions/garlic mixture for 5 minutes. Remove from oven and return bell peppers until the skin is charred. Remove from oven & set aside until cook enough to handle.

Pre-heat oven to 450 C. Place shredded potato in baking dish, toss with butter and put in oven. Ever 10 minutes or so, mix potatoes around and return to oven until cooked.

While potatoes cook, remove skin from peppers and slice thinly, add to onion and garlic mixture and throw in chopped basil.

In separate bowl, mix eggs, evaporated milk, salt & pepper together.

Once potatoes are cooked reduce oven temperature to 375. Place peppers/onion combo on top, top with cheese and pour egg mixture on top (apparently, as I look at the picture I threw in some leftover ham into the eggs. I don’t remember doing so, but clearly I did!) Return to oven and bake for 35 minutes. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes before cutting.

This recipe took forever. Did I mention that already? I won’t be making this again on a weeknight!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Roasted pepper & ham Quiche with garden salad

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan (Week of Feb 26th) | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

