Disappointing Dinners…


I was so utterly disappointed in last night’s meal. A total flop. So much a flop that we threw out all the leftovers, something we NEVER do. While the marinade was fabulous, I have no idea what was up with my meat. Despite having marinated all day, it was tough, chewy and overall inedible. The beef wasn’t overcooked; most pieces were cooked to medium doneness. I’m hoping all our cuts of beef from our latest beef purchase aren’t all this tough. That being said, the marinade was fabulous and I will certainly be trying it again. It was all the meat’s fault.
 

Don’t get me started on the sweet potatoes. I have concluded that getting a crispy sweet potato without a deep-fryer is pretty much impossible unless you take the extra step of coating them in an egg white/flour coating… and I don’t like my sweet potatoes in a coating. I’ve tried soaking them as you would potatoes, I’ve tried less oil, I’ve tried more oil, I’ve tried baking at a higher temperature, I’ve tried baking them longer… No dice.  I am officially declaring that I am never making sweet potato fries again and instead will just refer to them as sweet potato wedges. No lying and less disappointment.

 
The whole meal was just meh. So meh  in fact that I didn’t even take out my camera to take pictures. Just take my word for it!

 Herb-marinated Sirloin Skewers

2 tbsp grainy Dijon mustard
2 tbsp Balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp Olive oil
1 tbsp Brown sugar
½ tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 tbsp Fresh thyme (I used 4 or so sprigs thrown right in
1 tbsp fresh rosemary (also 4 or so sprigs)
1.5 lbs beef sirloin cut into 1.5” cubes
Wooden skewers, soaked in water
Mix the first 8 ingredients together and pour over meat. Marinate for at least 1 hour. Skewer meat on wooden skewers and grill 8-10 minutes until beef is cooked to wanted doneness.

Sweet potato “fries”
4 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into wedges
Smoked paprika
Ground cumin
Chili powder
Salt
Pepper
2 tsp olive oil

Toss sweet potato wedges in olive oil. Sprinkle them with spices, toss some more and lay out on cookie sheet and bake at 450 F until cooked.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Disappointing Dinners…

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan – Week of March 4th | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

