Spicy Black Bean Soup


I don’t often say these things with such conviction but… MAKE THIS SOUP. It’s fabulous. I had seconds and I don’t have seconds very often since I started my diet in the New Year. I got this recipe from the Loonyspoons cookbook and was hesitant to try it considering the pickier eaters in the household (wink wink, G!) and everyone enjoyed it. I do think that my pairing it with cheesy garlic toast may have had something to do with it, but still, I’ll give the soup some credit.

 Spicy Black Bean Soup

2 tsp olive oil
1 cup chopped onions
1 cup chopped red bell pepper
1 cup chopped carrots
1 tsp minced garlic (about 1 clove)
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
3 cups reduced sodium beef or vegetable broth (I used home made stock I had in the freezer. Low sodium since I barely added any when making it)
2 cans no-salt added black beans, drained and rinsed (See my post from this weekend; I used dried black beans I cook up in the slow cooker. No sodium at all! Works out to a little over 2 cups of black beans)
2 tbsp minced fresh cilantro (I used more because I can’t get enough cilantro)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp brown sugar
2 tsp dried oregano (I left this out. I couldn’t find my oregano)
1 tsp chilli powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp Worcestershire
0.5 tsp dried thyme (I used about 1 tbsp of fresh since I had some on hand)
0.5 tsp salt (I used a little more since my broth was unsalted)
0.5 tsp freshly ground black pepper
Light sour cream
Fresh cilantro for garnish

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add onions, red peppers, carrots, garlic and jalapeno. Cook and stir for 5 minutes until vegetables begin to soften. Add all remaining ingredients, except sour cream. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, covered for 10 minutes.

Puree the soup to desired consistency using a hand-held immersion blender, blender or food processor. Return soup to pot.  To serve, top each bowl of soup with a dollop of sour cream. Garnish with fresh cilantro.

8 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

8 responses to “Spicy Black Bean Soup

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan – Week of March 4th | mealtime mayhem

  2. Lena M

    Thanks V! Will be making it this weekend. I LOVE black beans.

  3. This does sound like a good tasting soup. Spicy is so good this time of the year.

    • Agreed! If you do want more spicy, I’d add in some chili powder or another jalapeno. It was spicy, but not overly so. Perfect for the wee ones, but I personally would have enjoyed a little more kick.

  4. It does sound wonderful! I love black beans, but my husband doesn’t. :-( I’ll make a batch and just freeze the rest!

  5. Jenna

    I’m making this tonight…thanks!

  6. Pingback: lemon-blueberry glazed scones | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

