Slow Cooker Coconut Curry


“I suuuuuuuuuuure love curry,” my kid would say. So why wouldn’t he eat any tonight? Kids (and husbands…) They’re an unpredictable bunch, that’s for sure. This recipe for curry is sumptuous, low-fat and so easy to whip together. You’ll be thanking me forever! It’s normally served with chicken, but I used stewing beef because that’s what I had on hand in the freezer (note, I also have enough beef in my freezer to feed three or four large families for a year. I gotta use it up somewhere!)

Slow cooker Coconut Curry
2 lbs, chicken cut into cubes (or beef, or any meat you want really. This would be awesome with veggies and legumes such as potatoes, cauliflower, chickpeas. You could even throw in spinach. Darn. Why didn’t I think of that last one earlier?!)
1 whole onion, peeled and halved
2 cloves of garlic
1 whole green pepper, seeded and quartered
1 can tomato paste (See C? Sometimes you need a WHOLE CAN!)
1 can low-fat coconut milk
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp curry powder (I used 2 tbsp of curry paste. What can I say? I suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuure love curry!)
1 tbsp garam masala
2 whole dried chili peppers (I left these out for my children’s sake)
2 tbsp water
1 1/2 tbsp cornstarch
Cilantro, chopped

Place meat cubes inside the slow cooker.

Place the remaining ingredients (except chili peppers, cornstarch, water and coriander) in a food processor (or blender!) and pulverize until the mix is smooth(ish). Pour sauce mix on top of the chicken, mix well, add hot peppers if using any, then close the lid. Cook on low for 6 hours.

Yeah that looks appetizing right? Trust me though. It’s fabulous! The sauce looks like alien puke because I used two green peppers. REALLY!

An hour before serving, mix together water and cornstarch until the cornstarch is completely dissolved. Add to the curry and mix well. Place the lid back on for the rest of the cooking time. I also added some frozen peas and a couple of diced carrots at this stage.

Serve on basmati rice and sprinkle with a generous handful of cilantro (if you remember to!)

1 Comment

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

One response to “Slow Cooker Coconut Curry

  1. RnR

    That sounds so yummy!
    One thing my kid has never been into is Indian food so I don’t tend to make it very often anymore. But this makes me want to give it another go!

Leave a Reply

