Burgers & BBQ potatoes.


Inevitably, if one of the two kids gets sick, I get sick. I woke up yesterday feeling what I’d describe as funky but trudged my way into town. I stopped at the world’s best coffee shop (shout out, Jimmy’s Coffee!) for my daily double Americano and stumbled into work. About halfway through my normally delicious coffee I felt horrible. The coffee actually made its way into the trash, and by 11:30, I was making my way back to the car to get home. Home, where I promptly spent the rest of the time passed out on the couch until it was time to fetch my spawn from daycare. I then tossed them out into the backyard with their father while I made them a fantastic homemade box of Annie’s Mac n’Cheese. I even threw in a couple of handfuls of frozen peas. That makes it a balanced meal, right?  Why am I telling you this? Well because that’s my awesome recipe to share. A box of mac n’cheese and frozen peas. A delightful feast.

I made up for it tonight with some homemade bbq’ed burgers and potatoes with a side of (still) leftover beet salad for myself, and raw veggies for the boys.

My burgers are pretty straightforward. I just use about 1 to 1.5 lbs of our extra lean ground beef and throw in a tablespoon or two of Montreal Steak spice, mix and form into patties and grill. I’m not a fan of beef burgers with any other “fillers” (onion, egg, breadcrumbs, etc) in them. The steak spice gives the meat just enough flavour and seasoning to make the perfect burger. I must say that this doesn’t really work well with cheaper supermarket ground beef. I find that ground beef is too watery and usually needs at least some breadcrumbs, if not an egg, to bind the patties together.

As for the potatoes, I haven’t made this recipe in forever and forgot how much I love it. It’s PERFECT for the BBQ. The potatoes always have the right balance of heat, sweetness and saltiness to them.

BBQ Potatoes

2 tbsp olive oil or butter (melted)
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp honey
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 to 1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 lbs medium-sized potatoes, quartered

Combine olive oil, chili powder, honey, garlic powder and pepper in a bowl. Add potatoes and toss to coat. Spoon potatoes into aluminium foil and seal into a pouch. Roast on bbq about 30 minutes, flipping pouch over half way, until potatoes are cooked and tender.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Burgers & BBQ potatoes.

  1. RnR

    This just reminded me of a potato ‘pouch’ I used to love on the BBQ and now I can’t wait to make it (and try yours, too!) soon. The one I loved had onions mixed in and then just butter and potatoes. And maybe carrots. I totally can’t remember for sure. Maybe I should just try yours and add in some onions!

  2. Lena M

    Ooohhh – V, looks delish! There is nothing like a good homemade burger. I will have to try those taters, they look great ;) And, no shame about Annie’s Mac and Cheese, my kids have it at least once a week.

  3. Pingback: i’m back. honest. | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

