Virtually fat free banana muffins


While I don’t blog about it, I started a pretty arduous weight loss journey this past New Years. My goal really has been to cut back on snacking, junk food and especially teaching myself to eat WELL and eat less (helloooo portion control!) I refused to eat “diet” food, determined to make meals the family could all enjoy together. If whatever I am making isn’t diet friendly, I just eat less, and pair it with a big serving or two of veggies, or throw in a salad for myself, you get the picture. I don’t want to rely on a strict menu of diet foods because it isn’t realistic. Sure, you can lose weight and probably a lot faster that I am now, but once that diet program is over, what’s left? You go back to your old ways because you haven’t learned how to eat healthy in a uncontrolled (diet food free) environment. I am tracking my food intake and such through Weight Watchers online, the tools they offer do help me out. I’m not sure I’d ever be able to do meetings though. They just aren’t my thing. Either way, it’s going well. I’ve lost 28 lbs. and still going – or trying at least!

I’ve rambled on and on just to say that during this period, I’ve been on the search for the perfect banana chocolate chip muffin that the boys would enjoy and that I could indulge in. I have finally found it! This recipe is perfect (and with chocolate chips is still only 3 points a muffin, score!)

Low-fat Banana Chocolate chip muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups mashed ripe bananas
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup nonfat sour cream ( or use low-fat sour cream or use fat-free yogurt)
1 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup chocolate chips

Set oven to 350 degrees.

Grease or line 12 regular-size muffin tins with paper liners.

In a large bowl mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl beat banana, sour cream, sugar, egg and vanilla until just blended; stir into the chocolate chips.

Scoop/divide the mixture between the muffin tins.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the muffins test done.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Virtually fat free banana muffins

  1. I’m so impressed by your weightloss and this recipe!

  2. Christine

    Congrats on the weight loss! Way to go! I’m going to try this recipe this weekend.

  3. Pingback: thai meatballs over rice (and some banana blueberry muffins) | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

