Lime and Cilantro Marinated Salmon


Absolutely sumptuous meal tonight if I say so myself. We got home from work on the early-ish side (5:30.. wow!) and my volleyball game isn’t until 8:30PM hence I actually had time to cook tonight. We had awesome lime and cilantro marinated salmon kebabs, couscous with toasted almonds and dried cranberries and my favourite: oven roasted asparagus.

I don’t know why I insist on serving couscous or rice to the kids. They inevitably get it all over the place and I spend my meal obsessively attempting to pick up every single grain that falls of their plate, hits their shirt or lands on -shudder- the floor! You cannot fathom the sheer will power I used to resist hopping up and getting the broom out mid-meal… you just can’t. I need to find a dog-rental company for meals involving any sort of loose grain. Fido could happily keep my kids laps and my floor tidy, and I could enjoy my meal relatively stress free!

Lime and Cilantro Marinated Salmon Skewers
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
2 tbsp fresh cilantro, minced
1 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp honey mustard (I had no honey mustard so I improvised and used 1 tbsp of honey and 1 tbsp of mustard.)
1 tbsp barbecue sauce or ketchup
1 tsp lime zest, grated (I forgot to include this!)
1 tsp garlic, minced
1/4 tsp each: ground cumin, ground coriander, salt and freshly ground black pepper
1-1/2 lbs boneless skinless salmon fillets, cut into chunks
4 wooden skewers, soaked in water

Combine all of the ingredients, except for salmon and skewers, into a small bowl. Place the salmon into a large ziplock bag and pour the marinade over fish. Ensure salmon is coated completely by marinade. Refrigerate for approximately 30 minutes, turning at the halfway mark to ensure all the fish is marinated evenly.

Preheat the broiler to a high setting. Remove the salmon chunks from the marinade and pour the remaining marinade in a bowl. Skewer each piece.

Broil the salmon for 3-4 minutes per side while brushing the reserved marinade often while cooking. My fish was ready in about 8 or 9 minutes, turning only twice, basting 4 times.

 

Couscous with toasted almonds and dried cranberries
1 cup whole wheat couscous
1 and 1/2 cup chicken broth
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp lemon juice
Lemon zest
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup dried sweetened cranberries
1/2 cup chopped green onions
salt

In a sauce pan bring the chicken broth to a boil, add 1 teaspoon olive oil and the couscous. Stir and take it off the heat. Cover and let stand for 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork.

In a small bowl, combine the lemon juice, zest, salt and the olive oil to make the dressing. In a bowl, mix the couscous, almonds, cranberries, scallions and the dressing.

2 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

2 responses to “Lime and Cilantro Marinated Salmon

  1. Your salmon skewers and couscous sound great. I laughed at a rental dog for food cleanup…perfect. LOL.

  2. RnR

    Oh, yum! I want to try this out on the BBQ!

    Want to know our solution for rice/couscous sticking to clothing? We feed our kids naked. All the time. So much easier! And my friend swears by leaving the rice on the floor for a while and coming back when it’s dry and quick to sweep or vacuum – but we’ve never tried that – we are always down on the floor sweeping or wiping it up.

Leave a Reply

