slow cooker peanut-ginger chicken thighs


I don’t know where I put my camera. Have you seen it?

Last time I saw it, I was taking Easter pictures of the boys and my nephews. Maybe one of hid it in an attempt at being the Easter Bunny? Either way, I have no pictures of last night’s dinner, which, by the way, wasn’t as horrible looking as our previous meal. It wasn’t pretty, but in my experience, most meals in the slow cooker aren’t.

I have to say though, I love the slow cooker. I love the convenience of slapping together a few ingredients in the morning and coming home to an almost complete meal. I love getting extra time to hang out with the boys instead of ushering them out of the kitchen while I do my best to get dinner on the table in a reasonable amount of time. G probably loves the lack of kitchen clean up after I’ve used it; unless the food stuck to the edges and requires a pick-axe to chip off the burned remnants from the dish.

Slow-cooker peanut-ginger chicken thighs
1 cup medium salsa
1/3 cup natural peanut butter
1 tbsp brown sugar (if you’re using sweetened PB, skip this)
2 tbsp frozen concentrate O.J. (I used regular OJ I had on hand)
1 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp liquid honey
1 tbsp grated gingerroot

1/2 tsp curry powder
12 boneless skinless chicken thighs

Place chicken thighs in crockpot .Whisk together the rest of the ingredients and pour over thighs. Cook on low for 4-6 hours, until chicken is cooked through. Before serving, remove the chicken from the crock and give the sauce a good stir. Serve garnished with green onions and crushed peanuts alongside some basmati or jasmine rice.

A few notes about this recipe: It needed more ginger. A lot more. I would probably double or triple the amount the next time I make it. But I love ginger. If you don’t love it as much as I do, just leave the recipe as is.

I’d also throw in some lime juice. I’m not sure why, I just think it would really elevate the flavours.

Thirdly, if you’re making this in the morning and leaving for work all day like I am, use frozen chicken thighs and cook on low for 8 hours. This is what I did and the meat was perfectly done. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

