Chicken Pot Pie


I really haven’t contributed much over the past few days. I apologize. I caught the most god-awful cast of strep throat that had me on my back since Saturday. Think sore throat, sore head, sore neck, sore muscles, sore bones, throw a fever of 104F on top of that and give it all a good stir. I finally made it to the dr’s yesterday morning and am finally feeling human again after 36 hours on antibiotics.  This means I haven’t grocery shopping in 10 days and had to figure out what to make for dinner tonight. We could have done take out, but realistically, I hadn’t cooked since last Thursday (Friday was takeout night!) and I was feeling sort of guilty.  I did have 4 small chicken breasts I’d optimistically put in the fridge to thaw out on Sunday and needed use those up before they went bad.  I remembered some frozen pastry dough in the freezer, a head of cauliflower I needed to use up as well as a bunch of potatoes that were so close to growing legs of their own and taking off down the street that I figured chicken pot pie was on the menu tonight!

I didn’t follow a particular recipe so please bear with me as I attempt to remember everything I put in!

Chicken Pot Pie

1 teaspoon olive oil
1 cup diced onions
1/2 cup diced celery
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup of cauliflower florets (cut up into small bite-sized pieces)
1 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup frozen corns
1 tsp italian seasoning
1 3/4 cups salt-free chicken broth
1 cup evaporated milk (skim)
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 cups roasted chicken breast, roughly chopped
1 pack of puff pastry dough
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp water

Pre-heat oven to 375. Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in large oven-safe pot (I used my dutch oven). Add onions and garlic. Cook until onions begin to soften, about 3 minutes. Add celery and carrots and cook for another minute or two. Add cauliflower and potatoes to pot then pour in broth. Add italian seasoning and stir. Bring to a simmer and cover. Allow to cook for about 12-13 minutes until the potatoes are tender but still firm.

 

In the meantime, whisk evaporated milk and flour together to get rid of any lumps. Add to pot along with frozen peas and corn. Cook and stir until mixture thickens.

Remove from heat and stir in chicken.

 

On a lightly floured surface, roll out pastry dough and cover pot with it. Beat together egg and water. Brush the pastry dough lightly with egg & water mixture. Poke a few holes in the dough and place in oven for 15-20 minutes until pastry dough is golden and flaky. Remove from oven and let stand for 5 minutes. Dish out and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. RnR

    Glad you are feeling a bit better.

  2. Mmm… chicken pot pie is my go-to comfort food!

Leave a Reply

