Some repeats!


So far, I have managed to feed the family for a little over two weeks on one grocery shop with the exception of picking up a few fresh fruit and veggies along the way. I’m fairly impressed with myself, although it isn’t a habit I’d like to keep up! It is, however, a great way to clear out the fridge, pantry and freezer.

Due to limited food supplies, it was a repeat meal tonight. We had maple soy marinated salmon, couscous and maple glazed carrots.

I improvised a bit with the couscous and threw in all these ingredients.

I boiled 2 cups of unsalted chicken broth, removed from the heat and threw in a cup of couscous. Stirred and placed pot lid tightly back on pot.  I let it stand for 15 minutes then fluffed the grain up with a fork. I added about 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, the juice of half a large lemon, 1/2 cup of chopped raw almonds, 2 large green onions and almost a cup of chopped cilantro. Added a pinch of salt and pepper, stirred it all up and served.  Turned out great!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

