thai meatballs over rice (and some banana blueberry muffins)


I decided to give another Looneyspoons recipe a whirl and make Thai inspired meatballs. Unfortunately, this one wasn’t a success. I thought it was decent (read: edible) but the rest of the fam wasn’t as convinced.  As such, this recipe will be removed from the recipe rotation. Nonetheless, those who had recommended the recipe to me really enjoyed it and the reviews I found online were positive and so I’m going to share it with you anyways! I suppose the mix of flavours just wasn’t for me!

Glad Thai Dings from the Looneyspoons cookbook

Meatballs:
1 1/2 pounds extra lean ground beef
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs — unseasoned
3 tablespoons finely minced green onions
1 tablespoon minced fresh cilantro
1 egg
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Sauce:
1 cup light coconut milk
1/3 cup hoisin sauce
2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons light peanut butter
2 tablespoons minced fresh basil — or fresh cilantro
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 400F. Spray rimmed cookie sheet or large baking dish and set aside.

Meatballs: Combine all meatball ingredients in a large bowl (using hands works best.)

Form meat mixture into 40 1-1 1/2 inch meatballs. Put on prepared pan.

Bake for 18-20 minutes until cooked through and nicely browned.

While meatballs are cooking prepare sauce. In a deep non-stick skillet, whisk together all sauce ingredients. Heat over medium-high heat, stirring constantly, until sauce boils. Reduce heat to medium and cook, uncovered, for 3 minutes, stirring often. Sauce will thicken a bit.

Add cooked meatballs to sauce and mix well.

Serve hot.

I served over rice and asian inspired stir-fried bell peppers. I chopped up some peppers, added a bit of oil to my wok, added a splash of soy and a splash of rice wine vinegar. Voilà!

I also decided to whip up some banana-blueberry muffins. I used my low-fat muffin recipe found here and subbed the chocolate chips for a cup of blueberries and added a couple of tablespoons of ground flax. I added a bit of extra mashed bananas a about a tsp of extra sour cream to compensate for the flax meal.  I made a dozen of these on Saturday morning and there are none left. My eldest may have eaten almost three to himself for breakfast that morning. Healthy and yummy. Can’t go wrong!

1 Comment

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

One response to “thai meatballs over rice (and some banana blueberry muffins)

  1. RnR

    I tried those once and really wanted to like them, but had the same experience as you – I thought they were ok (not great) but the boys were not fans at all!

Leave a Reply

