slow cooker autumn sausage casserole


God bless the slow cooker. Every single time I make a meal in it I realize how much I love it. It’s really nice to come home to a ready to serve meal. I’ve also managed to weed through many “bad” slow cooker recipes and those that make it into the rotation are usually pretty decent!

I made extra rice on Saturday for this recipe and chopped up all the veggies while I waited for last night’s dinner to bake in the oven. That way all I had to do was cook up some sausage this morning, which I did while doing my hair and makeup.  I assembled it all right before heading out the door.

Slow cooker autumn sausage casserole (stolen from A Year of Slow Cooking website)

1 pound sausage (I used honey garlic pork sausage)
1 large, or 2 small apples, chopped
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 cup chopped carrots
1/2 cup celery, chopped
3 cups already cooked long-grain rice (I had white basmati leftovers)
1/2 cup raisins
1 tbsp dried parsley flakes
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt (omit if your broth is high in salt)
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/3 cup chicken broth or water (I used water)

Directions: Brown sausage and dump everything in the crock pot. Cook on low for 5-7 hours or on high for 3-4.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

