fiery fish tacos with corn and black bean salsa


I’ve been craving fish tacos forever and admittedly, selfishly made this meal assuming no one else in the house would it eat. I was wrong. Both kids scarfed down their dinners and my eldest eat an additional bowl of salsa after the fact. Although I’m not convinced the enthusiastic response to the meal was unrelated to the popsicle bribe I may or may not have offered up, I’d rather plead ignorance and pretend they just plain can’t get enough of my fabulous cooking!
Corn and Black Bean Salsa
Juice of 4 small limes
2 tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic minced
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground cayenne pepper
1 cup black beans
1 cup thawed frozen corn kernels
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 roma tomato, diced
3 green onions, thinly sliced
1/3 cup chopped cilantro

Mix lime juice, olive oil, salt and cayenne pepper.

Combine the rest of the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. Pour dressing over ingredients and toss well to coat.

Fiery Fish Tacos
4-6 tilapia fillets
Southwest spice mix
Corn tortillas, warmed

I just realized I actually used the PC Cajun Seasoning and not a Southwest one. Do it. It was amazing anyways. Or, if you insist you need Southwest, just google southwest spice mix, I think there’s a decent Emeril Lagassi one on the Food Network site!

Preheat grill on high heat.

Pat fish dry and season generously with spice mix.

Spray grill with olive oil and cook tilapia about 3 minutes per side until cooked through.

Place fish on tortilla (I used 1/2 a fillet per tortilla), top with salsa and a dollop of sour cream. Garish with a little extra cilantro. Fold and gobble up. Rinse. Repeat.

1 Comment

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

One response to “fiery fish tacos with corn and black bean salsa

  1. Yum! I’m sure it had nothing to do with the Popsicles.

Leave a Reply

