grilled marinated flank steak


My world is all sorts of crazy right now. I cannot fathom how families with kids in multiple organized sports/music/whatever survive.  This week is the week leading up to my eldest’s dance recitals and we have rehearsals almost every night, and I just can’t figure out how to get everything done! Nevermind that my house is  a pig sty and the cleaner’s coming tomorrow… Am I the only one who cleans for my cleaning lady??  Let’s not forget that my mom is flying in on Thursday and I also have this unhealthy obsession with ensuring the house is spotless and appears unlived in for my mom’s arrival. (Don’t ask me why. I know she knows I have two young kids!) It’s funny how we obsess over the weirdest stuff, eh?

Anyhow, I haven’t been doing much cooking but we did have a lovely bbq’ed meal on Saturday night. I figured we’d celebrate our successful yard sale with some marinated flank steak on the grill. I have I’ve posted my beer and spice marinated flank steak recipe before but this particular marinate beats it, hands down. I love the asian flavours of this dish; the saltiness of the soy and the sweetness of the honey really compliment each other. Once grilled and the honey chars a little on the barbecue just make it perfect!

Marinated Flank Steak

1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce or 1/4 cup teriyaki marinade
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ginger root, minced
1 lb flank steak

Combine all the marinade ingredients in large ziplock bag. Add the steak and seal the bag. Refrigerate at least 2 hours (up to 24 hours).

Grill the steak for 12 to 14 minutes or to desired doneness or about 6 or so minutes per side over high heat.

You can also serve the marinade as a sauce. Just bring it to a boil in a small saucepan, reduce the heat and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.

I paired this with my favourite oven roasted potatoes and plain ol’ steam broccoli with butter and fresh lemon juice.

I also enjoyed this with one of my favourite beers from back home, la Blanche de Chambly. Probably not the best pairing for this white lager, but after an awesome day in the sun, it was just calling my name from the fridge!

4 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

4 responses to “grilled marinated flank steak

  1. My life has really improved since I stopped cleaning up for the cleaning lady (with her permission, of course!). Sometimes I can’t find things, or find them in zany places, but it’s worth it. :)

    • My biggest hang up is that I want her to focus on cleaning and not having to wade through my little piles of junk in order to clean! I really should try and focus on organizing… Only 7 months ’till my next New Years resolution, right! ;)

  2. Pingback: grilled asian steak salad | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

