grilled asian steak salad


grilled asian steak salad

I’m on a mission to use up more beef that’s been sitting in my freezer for a few months. I’m not going through the ¼ cow we bought fast enough and now that it’s BBQ season, I figure I’ll try and have a few more beef meals a week. It was dreadfully humid here this afternoon and I’d decided there was no way in hell I was turning on the oven or using the stove. We have no AC and my house does not need the additional heat! I decided to marinate an eye of round steak I had in the freezer and serve it with a fresh summer salad. I didn’t intend on the kids actually eating anything aside from the meat (they’re a carnivorous bunch, like their daddy) but I was pleasantly surprised when they demanded salad and vegetables! I was more than happy to comply.

I marinated my steak using the marinade recipe I shared a few weeks ago. You can find it here.

This here is the recipe for the salad and the dressing I whipped up. While the recipe and ingredients in itself aren’t really Asian, the flavours are and hence the name I decided to give it.

Grilled Asian Steak Salad

Dressing
2-3 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp ginger, minced
2 tsp garlic, minced
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 tsp sesame oil
2 tsp white wine vinegar
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp sriracha
1/2-1 tsp sweet chili sauce

Salad

5-6 cups romaine lettuce, rinsed and chopped
1 bell pepper (red, orange or yellow are prettiest!) julienned
1 medium carrot, julienned
1/2 English cucumber, thinly sliced
3-4 green onions, sliced diagonally
1 avocado, sliced

1 to 1.5 lbs of marinated flank steak (or other cut of meat)

To make the dressing, whisk together all the ingredients and pour over salad ingredients. Toss then slice the steak thinly and serve on top.

This is the whole meal on one plate. Please don’t think I can eat all that in one sitting… Well. I probably could. But I wouldn’t want you thinking, or knowing it!

I had some leftover cupcakes from the weekend. It’s also strawberry season (hurrah!). I decided to improvise on dessert and whipped these babies up for the fam. I think I want seconds…

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “grilled asian steak salad

  1. trialsinfood

    My dad made steak for us this weekend. He marinated with lemongrass and soy sauce, definitely Asian style. Your steak and dessert look delicious.

  2. Thanks. I’m biased but they were indeed deeee-lish!

Leave a Reply

