I’m baaaaaaaaaaack.


Fear not, my pretties. I have returned to you.

I have survived turning 32, a most gruelling visit from mine mother; a whirlwind trip to the Big Apple, a 5 year old’s birthday party and much, much more!

These past 10 or so days have been utterly taxing that I have yet to grocery shop. My barren shelves made figuring dinner out last night quite the challenge. Frozen chicken breasts in the freezer, a can of pineapple bits, brown rice and ketchup in the cupboard and a few condiments and wilting veggies in the fridge… Thanks again to my Looneyspoons cookbook (Readers, have you noticed a trend with my go-to recipe book? If you’ve never checked it out, I highly recommend picking up the Looneyspoon collection. The recipe names are a bit crazy and some of the jokes a bit flat, but the recipes very rarely fail. And they’re low-fat, to boot!)

One-pot chicken, pineapple and rice dinner

1 bsp olive oil
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into 1-inch cubes
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 can (398 ml/14 oz) pineapple chunks in juice, undrained
1 1/2 cups brown rice, uncooked. ** Make sure it’s the quick cooking but not instant kind. More importantly, don’t do like me and use regular brown rice. This will take forever to cook!
1 cup carrot finely chopped
1/2 cup red pepper chopped
1/2 cup green pepper chopped
1/4 cup ketchup
1 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons white vinegar
3/4 cup green onion, chopped

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook until chicken is lightly browned.

Add all remaining ingredients except the green onions. Mix well and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes (or an hour if using plain brown rice!) until rice is tender, stirring occasionally. Add green onions during last 5 minutes of cooking time. Remove from heat, let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

I also have a little secret to share with you… I love baking and decorating cakes. I was thrilled when my sister-in-law asked me to bake the cake for my nephew’s 5th birthday party. I was excited when she told me she was hosting Reptilia, a mobile reptile zoo that comes to your house and entertains the kids with all sorts of weird and somewhat gross critters. I liked the challenge of coming up with a theme-appropriate cake.

This is what I came up with… A snake cake and gummy worm cupcakes! The snake cake was really fun to make and the cupcakes relatively easy. I must say though that the gummy worm candy made the cupcakes much more of a hit than the snake cake itself! I think the grown-ups liked that one better!

2 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

2 responses to “I’m baaaaaaaaaaack.

  1. RnR

    The cake turned out so well! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

