slow cooker buffalo chicken


I didn’t cook last night. It was, at long last, Mr. T’s (my eldest) last dance class of the year. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled that he loves this activity; it’s fabulous therapy for him. I wouldn’t change that for anything, but rushing back out of the house after a full day at work has got to be one of the most stressful things ever. I really don’t know how people do it with multiple kids or multiple activities.

All this musing reminded me that I could have thrown something in the crockpot. I then realized that I haven’t really been utilizing my slow cooker to its full potential since starting this blog, mostly because often slow cooker meals, while extremely tasty, don’t look all that good. And, given my incredible knack for photography (insert heavy sarcasm here) I thought it would be best to stay away. All this has convinced me to share some of the family’s favourite slow cooker recipes with you on days where I don’t have a meal to post.

Who doesn’t love chicken wings? My husband for one… Mostly because he thinks there’s too much work for too little reward (meat) with wings. He eats to satisfy hunger and in his words “Who has time for chicken wings?”

I found the perfect solution! Buffalo chicken in the slow cooker! I found this recipe a while ago on Pinterest and LOVE it.

Slow cooker Buffalo Chicken
4 largish chicken breasts (fresh or frozen)
1 bottle Frank’s Wing Sauce
1 packet of ranch dressing dip mix
1 tbsp Butter

Put the first three ingredients into the slow cooker and cook on low for 6 hours. Remove chicken, shred and return to pot. Add 1 tbsp of butter and cook for another hour.

Serve on its own with carrots, celery and blue cheese dressing or even better on a roll as an amazing buffalo chicken sandwich!

4 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

4 responses to “slow cooker buffalo chicken

  1. I wish I had a slow-cooker!! I’m going to try doing this one in the oven with a large iron pot.

  2. Laurelie

    I want to make this but I’m thinking I’ll have to make mac and cheese or have leftovers on hand for the kids probably?

    • I just saw this comment today! So sorry! Yes, the chicken does come out pretty spicy since Frank’s Red Hot is pretty spicy. My youngest ate it without complaint, but I think his taste buds are underdeveloped! ;)

Leave a Reply

