i’m not on pinterest, but if I was…


I’m lying, sort of. I’m on Pinterest, but I use it to browse links from friends of stuff they’ve found there. They get to do the dirty work and I reap the benefits!

I tested out two Pinterest “referrals” yesterday and was very impressed.

First I tried out a new rub for my whole chicken in the crock pot. I followed this recipe to a “T” and was pleasantly surprised!

Crock Pot Whole Chicken with a Spice Rub
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons paprika
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon thyme
1 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 roasting chicken
1 chopped onion

Mix all the spices together in a bowl. (or small jar!)

Place Chopped Onions in the bottom of the crock pot.

Rub the spice mixture onto the chicken.

Cook on high for 4 -5 hours or on low for 6-8. I cooked it on low all day while I was at work and the meat was, surprisingly, still very tender.

Here’s a picture! Please excuse the shoddy quality, I took it with my phone. I left my memory card in my husband’s laptop yesterday and he hid it on me. It’s found now!

Secondly I made these potatoes. 

The blogger was not wrong. This recipe may pretty much be enough for one person! I may have shared a few with the husband but was more than happy to comply when the boys declared “We don’t like theeeeese.” Their potatoes did not go to waste.

Salt and Vinegar Broiled Potatoes
1 pound fingerling potatoes, sliced lengthwise to 1/4-inch thickness (I used red potatoes and this turned out just fine)
2 cups white or malt vinegar
Extra virgin olive oil
Kosher Salt
Pepper
Sour cream
Green onion thinly sliced.

In a small pot, combine the potato slices and vinegar. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer until fork-tender, about 8 minutes. Let cool in liquid for 30 minutes. Then drain well and pat potatoes dry with paper towels.

Preheat the broiler with a rack about 6 inches below the heat source. Dump the potato slices onto a sheet pan, sprinkle very generously with olive oil, salt and pepper, and toss to coat. Arrange the potato slices in a single layer. Broil until lightly browned on top, about 7 minutes. Then flip the slices and broil until the underside is lightly browned, about 5 minutes more. Top with green onion and serve with sour cream as dip. Serve warm. (I ate them cold. They’re just as yummy!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

