brown rice pilaf with cranberries and pistachios


I’ve been growing tired of my same old plain rice or potatoes lately and have been doing my best to try and branch out. I’ve experimented with a few new recipes and some have been huge hits!  I tried this recipe out last week and may have eaten the whole container of leftovers myself. Maybe.

Rice pilaf with cranberries and pistachios

2 tsp olive oil
2 cups of finely chopped shiitake mushrooms
1 cup minced red onions
1 tsp minced garlic
1 cup uncooked rice (the recipe called for brown but all I had on hand was white)
2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped pistachios
2 tbsp minced parsley
2 tsp lemon zest

Heat olive oil in a medium pot. Add mushrooms, onions and garlic. Cook until they begin to soften.

Stir in rice and cook for another minute. Add broth, salt and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down to low and cover. Simmer for 20 minutes until the rice is cooked.

Remove from heat and stir in cranberries, pistachios, parsley and lemon zest. Let stand for 10 minutes and serve.

The picture doesn’t do it justice. I really do wish I could take awesome pictures and make my blog posts more visually appealing. Alas, I have a horrible P&S (point and shoot, but I think it actually stands for piece of sh!t.) camera and zero photographic knowledge. Along with cake decorating classes,  one of my future goals is to get a better camera and take a few beginners photography classes.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “brown rice pilaf with cranberries and pistachios

  1. Rebecca

    Forget about the photos because you get bonus points for shaping your rice into that fancy ball. I’d never do that!

  2. haha! It’s my rice igloo.

Leave a Reply

