cold sesame noodles.


I have a new favourite food: cold sesame noodles. I was working from home on Monday and found some leftover rice noodles in the freezer (don’t ask why I decided to freeze leftover rice noodles. the texture was weeeei-rrrrd.) and whipped these up. They were fabulous and I can’t wait to make them for myself again! I say myself because I don’t think either of the boys (young or old) would go for them!

Cold Sesame Noodles
1 lb rice noodle, cooked and refrigerated
1/2 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
6 tablespoons sesame paste (tahini) or peanut butter
3/4 cup water, plus more if needed
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 scallion (both white and green parts), thinly sliced
1 1/2 inches of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped (1 tablespoon)
1 carrot, shredded or julienned very thinly
1 cup of cabbage shredded
Whatever else you’d like to throw in the salad. It would be great with some bell peppers, snow peas or other greens like baby Bok choy.

In a bowl, whisk together the oil, peanut butter, water, vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, garlic, 1/2 the scallions and the ginger. Set aside.

Throw the carrots, cabbage and other veg together with the cold noodles. Just before serving, toss the noodles with the sauce and top with the remaining chopped scallions. If you like it spicy, I added a couple of squirts of Sriracha to my sauce.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “cold sesame noodles.

  1. RnR

    I will have to try these out. Cold sesame noodles is one of our favorite things to order and it’s been a while!

Leave a Reply

