apple cinnamon muffins


My eldest started senior kindergarten at a new school last week. Where has my baby gone? :(

The morning of his first day, it dawned on me that perhaps this school did not have a snack program as his previous school did. I scrambled through the kitchen, searching for a half decent snack to send to school with him and settled on goldfish, cheese, a box of raisins and some water. Upon his return from school, Mr. T demanded “a cereal bar and a box of juice” for snack next week. If anyone knows me, I couldn’t comply with such a heathen request. Thus, I spent the weekend baking various snacks for him, including these muffins and granola bars (the recipe for which I will share at a later time).

Apple Cinnamon Muffins
1 1/2 cups quick cooking rolled oats
1 1/2 cups boiling water
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup brown sugar unpacked
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 egg
3 tbsp butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups apples, peeled and chopped finely

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a muffin tin with 12 cupcake liners.

In a small bowl, pour boiling water over oats. Stir and set aside for 20 minutes.

Combine oats, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk the honey, egg, applesauce, butter and vanilla. Add this mixture to the oats and stir. Add oat mixture to flour mix and stir until dry ingredients are all moistened. Fold in the chopped apple.

Divide butter into the 12 muffin cups and bake for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted into muffin comes out clean.

** This recipe made 16 muffins for me…

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “apple cinnamon muffins

  1. RnR

    I will have to try these out!

  2. Liane

    good for you defying the teacher’s request! I get annoyed at what THEY deem a snack and how dare they tell YOU what you should send as a snack. In my time, I defied them as well :) . too long a story to tell….
    p.s. I love reading your blog and all the fantastic recipes. Looking forward to more.
    Liane

    • Thanks Liane! Thankfully, I only had to defy my 4 year old. He’s the one who requested the cereal bar and juice. ;) We’ve happily come to an agreement and he can get a juice box once a week as a special treat! He came up with the suggestion all by himself. How could i deny such a keen negotiator.

Leave a Reply

