tomato pizza sauce


I recently realized that while I’ve been making a concerted effort to eat more whole foods, I’ve been resorting to pre-made processed stuff for things that are relatively easy and inexpensive to make. Pizza sauce is one of them. Why do I go to trouble to make my own batches of pizza dough and make great, wholesome pizzas if I’m going to buy the jarred or canned sauce to top it with?

I decided to give making my own sauce from scratch a try. It was a relatively painless process. A few minutes to get water boiling to blanch my tomatoes and to chop up all the ingredients. The rest of the cooking process was a walk in the park! The sauce is delicious and I can actually see myself using it as a base for various pasta sauces, too.

Tomato Pizza Sauce
5 or 6 vine ripened tomatoes, blanched, skinned and roughly chopped
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup onion, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp tomato paste
Pinch of sugar
salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil over medium heat in a sauce pan. Fry the onion, garlic and oregano, stirring occasionally, until onion is translucent, about 4 minutes.

Add tomatoes, vinegar, tomato paste, salt, pepper and sugar. Simmer until thickened, 15 to 20 minutes. Let cool slightly.

Using a blender, food processor or immersion blender and blend until smooth. I separated the sauce in 1/2 cup portions and froze the leftovers.

Oh! and Mommy got a new toy! I took the plunge and got an entry-level dSLR (thank you Wal-Mart anniversary sale!) I’m thrilled with my purchase. I’m by no means an expert photographer and I still shoot in automatic or preset modes, but I’d been seriously disappointed with the image quality of my old camera; I’m totally blown away by the crispness of the images on the new camera. I mean look! I took these pictures all by myself. Wheee!

I’m in love.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “tomato pizza sauce

  1. RnR

    V, I am so excited for you that you got a new camera! How fun! And the sauce sounds awesome, by the way!

Leave a Reply

