roasted brussels sprouts with bacon


Thanksgiving weekend was a bit of a bust over here. My eldest was recovering from some weird virus that knocked him on his butt for over a week and my youngest ended up with pneumonia. Fun times in our household. “Mayhem” for sure.

I ended up having the time to roast a ham on Monday and decided to be adventurous and cook Brussels sprouts for the first time. “What?!” you say, “You’ve never cooked Brussels sprouts?”  No, my dear friend. I have never cooked Brussels sprouts until this weekend. My memories of these little cabbage-like vegetables are not fond. I grew up being forced to eat tough, bitter… almost “green” tasting ping-pong balls and have shied away from them ever since. In an attempt to bring a more varied selection of vegetables into the house, I stood in front of the produce section and hum’ed and haw’ed.  I decided to give these little suckers another try.

When I got home, I went on an intense internet search to find a way to cook the sprouts in a palatable way. I stumbled upon a recipe that called for roasting them  – and I love most ALL roasted vegetables – with BACON! I was sold. This was the recipe I was going to try.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

1 ½ lbs Brussels sprouts
2-3 tbsp olive oil
4 slices bacon, sliced
Salt and pepper, to taste
Drizzle of Balsamic vinegar

Preheat the oven to 400C.

Remove the outer dark green leaves of the Brussels sprouts, exposing the lighter green beneath. Trim the stems and cut in half.

Toss the sprouts in the olive oil, salt and pepper. Lay them out in one layer on a foil-lined baking sheet.  Sprinkle the diced bacon over the Brussels sprouts.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, rotating and flipping the B&B (Brussels sprouts&Bacon) every 10 minutes.  Everything should be roasted nicely and caramelized.  Drizzle with some balsamic vinegar to finish the dish (optional… but yuuuuummy!)

I’m extremely glad I tried this recipe. Everyone enjoyed it and it was relatively simple to prepare. I’m sure it will be making its way into the rotation very soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

2 responses to “roasted brussels sprouts with bacon

  1. RnR

    mmm, yum!

    I’ve done them in a pan with pancetta, balsamic, and red onion before and they were very tasty.

  2. Dr. Mom

    I am going to get hubby to do these for Christmas dinner. Yummy!!! I love brussel sprouts!!

Leave a Reply

