red wine-braised short ribs roast with oven-roasted butternut squash


I’ve been charged and found guilty of blog-neglect. I haven’t posted in over a month, and even before that my posts were more and more sparse. I’ve just been utterly burned out by the thought of cooking and you’d all be appalled by what I’ve been serving the family. In my defense, many meals have also been “repeats” because obviously, I like to repeat family favourites often too! Because, you know, my kids will (mostly) eat them! My 2-year-old is now in the “I don’t like that.” and the “What’s this sauce on my food?” phase. He’s been surviving mostly on Cheerios and milk, apple sauce and rice crackers with some yogurt and cheese thrown in for good measure. Knowing kids, he’ll outgrown the phase soon enough and I can hope to regain a semi-decent eater at the end of it!

I’m going away on business for 10 days on Monday and decided to make a little feast for the family to a) use up some freezer meat and b) spend some quality time with them! I found a short-rib roast in the freezer that was getting a bit on the old side and decided to cook that up. I’ve made hoisin/beer braised short ribs in the past but I had a bottle of red wine open in the fridge already and figured I’d give this recipe a try instead! The recipe is for actual short ribs, but clearly, my roast was just short ribs that hadn’t been trimmed down into smaller pieces. It turned out perfectly!

Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 pounds bone-in beef short ribs, cut crosswise into 2″ pieces
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 medium onions, chopped
3 medium carrots, peeled, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 750-ml bottle dry red wine, like a Cab sauv.
10 sprigs flat-leaf parsley
8 sprigs thyme
4 sprigs oregano (I omitted the oregano)
2 sprigs rosemary
2 fresh or dried bay leaves (and forgot the bay leaves!)
1 head of garlic, halved crosswise
4 cups low-salt beef stock

Preheat oven to 350°. Season short ribs with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over high heat. Brown the short ribs/roast on all sides until you achieve a nice rich brown colour.

Transfer short ribs to a plate. Pour off all but 3 Tbsp. drippings from pot.

Add onions, carrots, and celery to pot and cook over medium-high heat, stirring often, until onions are browned, about 5 minutes.

Add flour and tomato paste; cook, stirring constantly for about 2-3 minutes. Stir in wine, then add short ribs with any accumulated juices. Bring to a boil; lower heat to medium and simmer until wine is reduced by half, about 25 minutes.

Add all herbs to pot along with garlic. Stir in stock. Bring to a boil, cover, and transfer to oven.

Cook until short ribs are tender, 2–2 1/2 hours. Transfer short ribs to a platter. Strain sauce from pot into a measuring cup. Spoon fat from surface of sauce and discard; season sauce to taste with salt and pepper. Serve over mashed potatoes with sauce spooned over.

I tried to edit the juice box out of the picture but who am I kidding? You all know I have kids!

I served this deliciousness up with some caramelized butternut squash which was equally divine! I stole this particular recipe from Ina Garten. I halved the recipe and it turned out lovely.

Caamelized Butternut Squash

2 medium butternut squash, peeled and diced into 1″ pieces
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven at 400F

Place diced squash on a baking sheet. Add the melted butter, brown sugar, salt and pepper. Toss all the ingredients together and spread in a single layer on the sheet. Roast for 45 to 55 minutes until the squash is tender and the glaze begins to caramelize. While roasting, turn the squash a few times with a spatula, to be sure it browns evenly. Serve hot.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “red wine-braised short ribs roast with oven-roasted butternut squash

  1. RnR

    Nice to see you back! It all looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

