pasta with chicken, pesto and sun-dried tomatoes


I had a whole bunch of basil growing old in my fridge that I had to use up quickly. I usually chop up and freeze my fresh herbs if I can’t use them all but this time, the leaves had already started to brown and I didn’t think they’d hold up to freezing very well. I also had two large-ish chicken breasts in the fridge that needed to be cooked up so I came up with this recipe. It was great! Something I would choose to eat in a restaurant, for sure!

First, I made some pesto. Unfortunately for you, I don’t really follow a recipe when making pesto. I just eyeball a few handfuls of fresh basil, about 1/2 cup of Parmigiano Reggiano, a few handfuls of toasted pine nuts, a splash or three of olive oil and toss in some salt and pepper for good measure. I throw it all in the food processor and voilà! Basil pesto! Just so you know, it freezes very well! For the rest of the meal ingredients… here’s the recipe!

Ppasta with chicken, pesto and sun-dried tomatoes

Spaghetti noodles (I really wish I could tell you how much to cook but I always cook WAY TOO MUCH pasta. I try and estimate that the diameter of a quarter is 1 portion size of spaghetti but I still can’t get it right. I’ll just say try to cook enough for 4 adults.)
2 grilled boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced thinly
1/3 cup oil packed or rehydrated sun dried tomatoes, cut into strips
1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan
1/2 cup basil pesto
3/4 cup pasta cooking water
Handful of toasted pine nuts

Cook the noodles as the package instructs. Drain and save approximately 3/4 cup of the pasta water and set aside. Toss the noodles with the sun dried tomatoes, cheese and pesto. Add the cooking water as needed so that the sauce smooths out. Pour it in gradually, you don’t want wet, runny pasta! Serve and top with a few toasted pine nuts and some fresh basil leaves if you have.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “pasta with chicken, pesto and sun-dried tomatoes

  1. RnR

    mmmm, I love pesto and sun-dried tomatoes together in paste. I want this right now!

  2. looks great! love basil pesto!

Leave a Reply

