pork tenderloin with honeyed butter


I usually shy away from pork and don’t cook it too often and when I do, it’s usually pork tenderloin. It turns out that tenderloin was on sale this week at the grocery store and I couldn’t resist $2,44/lb price tag. I stocked up and decided I would try a new recipe instead of my usual go-to marinade ones!

I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest and decided to give it a try. It turned out pretty well; the flavours were nice but I slightly overcooked the meat. There did seem to be something missing to the flavours… a lot of sweet and not enough savoury. I think next time I’ll try the recipe with maple syrup instead of the honey as I much its flavour to honey. Maybe add a bit more salt or even some garlic to the sauce. It definitely needed something to break up the sweetness of the honey.

Pork Tenderloin with Honeyed Butter
1 1/2 lbs pork tenderloin, trimmed of silver skin
3 tbsp butter
2 tbsp honey
Salt
Pepper
1/4 cup water

Preheat oven to 375F.

In a Dutch oven or ovenproof skillet (I used a cast iron pan), heat butter and honey over medium heat, stirring to melt butter. Season pork with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and place in pan. Cook until underside is lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Turn pork, and cook until other side is browned, about 5 minutes more. Lower the heat if the honey begins to burn.

Put pan in the oven, and roast until pork is just cooked through about 15-20 minutes depending on if you want the pork pink or cooked through. Transfer pork to a plate.

Add water to the pan, and stir over medium heat to scrape up all the browned bits. Add any accumulated pork juices from the plate, and simmer until sauce is reduced by half. Slice pork on the diagonal, and serve drizzled with sauce.

DSC_0569

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

