penne alla vodka


Food + Booze. How can you go wrong?!

I made a delicious batch of penne alla vodka tonight from scratch tonight; I even went so far as making my own tomato sauce from a package of cherry tomatoes I had in the fridge. I was feeling rather inspired and fluttered about the kitchen as, I would imagine, a seasoned chef would do! I didn’t follow a specific recipe but instead added a little bit of this and a little of that, and the results were absolutely divine!

I paired my meal with a lovely Pinot Grigio and am now patting my belly in satisfaction. This recipe won’t be exact but is pretty close to what I made!

Penne Alla Vodka
1 lb penne rigate
1 tbsp olive oil
3 medium-sized shallots, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
6 slices bacon, chopped
1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup vodka (or white wine)
Splash of chicken stock
1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
salt and pepper
3/4 cups freshly grated parmigiano-reggiano

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil. Add bacon and cook until the edges begin to crisp. Add the shallots and the garlic. Cook until tender.

Add the tomatoes, salt and pepper. Simmer for about 4-5 minutes.

Add the cream, vodka and chicken stock. Cook for about 15 minutes, letting the sauce reduce by almost half. Add salt & pepper to taste

While the sauce simmers, cook the pasta al dente. Drain the pasta and toss with the sauce with the fresh basil and parmigiano. Serve immediately and indulge.

DSC_0007

3 Comments

Filed under Meal Plans, Recipes

3 responses to “penne alla vodka

  1. RnR

    We just finished a yummy dinner, but now I want yours!!! yum!

Leave a Reply

