potato, bacon and egg scramble


I decided to skip meal planning this week. A few of nights, I realized just how reliant I am on my scheduled meals. I got home from work on Monday and simply stood in front of the open fridge for about 10 minutes, staring blankly. I hadn’t thawed any meat and I didn’t really have that many fresh veggies available either. I was stumped.

I spotted some bacon in the drawer and a bunch of red peppers about to go bad. I grabbed those, a red onion, some cheddar cheese and a carton of egg, intending on whipping up a quick frittata. Instead, I spotted some boiled potatoes in the fridge and decided to improvise a hash.

As I was cooking up the ingredients, I realized the boys, the smalls and the big one, would probably not enjoy a hash with a fried egg on top as much as I would. I came up with a compromise and scrambled the egg and poured it on top of the mixture, stirring it up as I went. This is how my potato, bacon and egg scramble was born. Both littles ate two bowlfuls; I’ll be making this one again!

Potato, Bacon and Egg Scramble

2 to 3 cups of cooked potatoes
1/2 large red onion, diced
2 small (1 large) bell pepper, roughly chopped
6 slices bacon, chopped
6 eggs
1/2 cup sharp cheddar, grated
Salt & pepper to taste

Fry the bacon over medium-high heat until cooked but not crispy. Lower heat to medium; add onion and bell pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is translucent. Add potatoes and cook until potatoes start browning. I love my potatoes slightly crispy and brown. (yum!)

While the potatoes cook, crack the 6 eggs into a bowl and scramble. Add cheese to the egg mixture and pour over potato mixture in pan. Stir around until all the egg is cooked. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve and enjoy!

DSC_0342

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “potato, bacon and egg scramble

  1. RnR

    Great improv meal!

  2. christine

    I totally have to do this. Major Wifey points with this one!

  3. Pingback: Potato, Bacon and Egg Scramble | Recipes Home

Leave a Reply

