teriyaki meatball bowl


I bought these delicious pre-made meatballs at Costco and have totally fallen in love with them. While I’m usually one to make things from scratch, I sometimes cave for the convenience of pre-packaged goods. The Kirkland brand meatballs are one of these products I’ve discovered I’d much rather have on hand and use instead of making them from scratch on work nights.

I was browsing the Budget Bytes website and came across this recipe. It seemed easy enough for a rushed weeknight meal that I decided to give it a try, using, obviously, said Kirkland meatballs.  I decided to throw in some bell peppers and broccoli florets I stir-fried in a bit of sesame oil and make it a full meal in a bowl.  Everyone devoured  their dinner, and I made lots of extras for lunches. Yum!

Even though I used premade meatballs, I’ll still post the recipe for the meatballs. I just can’t comment on it! Based on reading other comments on the recipe, they’re a pretty good meatball recipe!

Teriyaki Meatball Bowl
Meatballs
1 lb. ground pork
1 large egg
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
½ tsp soy sauce
2 whole green onions
1/8 tsp freshly cracked black pepper

Teriyaki Glaze
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup water
1/2 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 tbsp Sesame seeds

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place the ground pork in a large bowl. Add the ginger, garlic and green onions. Add the egg, breadcrumbs, soy sauce, and black pepper. Mix all the ingredients until well combined.

Cover a baking sheet with foil. Roll the meatball mixture into small balls, about one tablespoon each. Place the meatballs on the baking sheet and bake until golden brown, about 35-40 minutes.

While the meatballs are in the oven, prepare the teriyaki glaze. In a medium pot combine the soy sauce, water, brown sugar, rice vinegar, and sesame oil. Add ginger. Heat over a low flame until the brown sugar is dissolved.

Make a slurry with the cornstarch and add to the glaze. Increase the heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, until the sauce thickens and begins to simmer. Add the sesame seeds.

Add the cooked meatballs to the glaze. Stir to coat. I added my stir-fried veggies to the pot at this point, too.

Serve over warm rice and top with extra green onions and sesame seeds.

DSC_0337

9 Comments

Filed under Recipes

9 responses to “teriyaki meatball bowl

  1. RnR

    Oh yum! I need to pin this one!

    • It was really good! I liked the addition of the veggies and because they were a little “hidden” by the sauce and the meatball, the boys (newfound vegetable haters) ate them without much complaint!

      • RnR

        I am predicting my kids will eat the meatballs before any sauce is on them, the rice plain, the peppers uncooked, and the broccoli steamed plain. NO way they’d eat it all mixed together with sauce. Ha!

  2. Molly

    I was just looking for an asian sauce and this teriyaki glaze sounds fantastic – I think I am going to use it for a pork tenderloin I am making this weekend

  3. breehegler

    Reblogged this on breehegler.

  4. RnR

    Trying this tonight :)

  5. Made this sauce again tonight ….. I miss your blogging, V!

Leave a Reply

