chicken yakisoba


I was introduced to the Budget Bytes blog on an online forum I frequent, and have fallen in love with this site. The recipes are super budget friendly and all very tasty. I haven’t been disappointed by any of the ones I’ve tried so far. I had bookmarked their chicken yakisoba recipe several weeks ago and, since chicken breasts were on sale this week ($2,88/lb !!!) and decided to give it a try.  I was lucky that most of all the required produce ingredients were on sale too.  I ended up making 1.5 times the recipe to have extras for lunches and the whole meal set me back at most $6,00 for almost 8 servings!

I will certainly be adding this to our meal rotation.

Chicken Yakisoba
1/2 head green cabbage, thinly sliced
1 medium yellow onion, sliced
2 medium carrots, grated
1 small crown broccoli, cut into small florets
1 medium-sized bell pepper, thinly sliced
2 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
3 small chicken breast, cut into 1/2″ pieces
1 tbsp peanut oil
3 packages ramen noodles (seasoning packets discarded)
1 tsp sesame oil
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup Worcestershire sauce
3 Tbsp ketchup
1 tsp sriracha
2 Tbsp sugar

Prepare all your vegetables and meat before hand. Grate your ginger and your carrots, slice your onion and bell peppers, cut up your broccoli and your chicken. While you do all this, boil your water for your noodles.

Cook the noodles as per the instructions, drain and toss in the sesame oil. Set aside.

Heat the peanut oil over medium heat, add the ginger and cook for a minute, stirring occasionally. Add the chicken and cook through. Add the vegetables and cook for 5-7 minutes.

While the vegetables and meat cook, combine the remaining ingredients: soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, ketchup, sriracha and sugar. Pour the sauce into the skillet with the meat and vegetables and stir. Add the noodles and toss to coat.

Serve and enjoy!

DSC_0387_01

The boys really liked their dinner. I told them they were “Crazy Noodles” and they went to town!
DSC_0406_01 DSC_0409_01

10 Comments

Filed under Recipes

10 responses to “chicken yakisoba

  1. RnR

    They sound so delicious. That blog is full of all kinds of great stuff! And I am jealous that your kids would eat it. NO way mine would. All of the ingredients separately for things like that around here!

    • I posted this right away because I knew you were waiting for it. ;)

      They wouldn’t eat it until I called them crazy noodles. Thankfully they’re getting past the “We don’t like our foods touching” phase.

  2. mmm, I think my kids would eat this up! Might have to add it to the meal plan for next week. How many bell peppers? They aren’t in the ingredient list.

  3. I made this tonight. The girls loved it – and so did we! Yum!

  4. I made this tonight and it was DELICIOUS! My son found it to be a touch spicy for his liking (so I will maybe ease up on the Sirachi Sauce next time) but all in all, it pleased the whole family. THANK YOU! Added to our rotation!

  5. Had this again tonight. It’s become a regular around here. We just add the sriracha to our own bowl. I’ve also started to add baby bok choy since they always have it on sale around here. And I used bagged coleslaw mix so I don’t have to slice cabbage!

Leave a Reply

