slow cooker balsamic glazed pork tenderloin


I got around to trying out some of the recipes I had pinned on Pinterest and decided to make this balsamic glazed pork tenderloin. I loved it and so did everyone else in the family. The meat was tender, and the extra glaze drizzled on top made sure it wasn’t try at all. I served it with some steamed basmati rice and roasted Brussels sprouts. This turned out to be another budget meal: I had two fresh pork tenderloins for $5.62 and a whole bunch of Brussels sprouts for $1

I did modify the recipe slightly: I cooked the tenderloin from partially frozen. I’ve been doing this with meat in the slow cooker when I won’t be home to turn off the crock pot. By cooking from frozen, I’ve found my meat doesn’t dry out as much. I also used two small tenderloins and so doubled the glaze recipe to make sure I had enough.

Slow Cooker Balsamic Glazed Pork Tenderloin

2 (2 pound) boneless pork tenderloin
2 tsp ground sage
1 tsp salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 clove garlic, crushed
1 cup water

Glaze
1 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 cup water
4 tablespoons soy sauce

Combine sage, salt, pepper and garlic. Rub over roast. Place the tenderloin in the slow cooker and add water. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

About an hour before roast is done, combine all the ingredients for the glaze in small sauce pan. Heat and stir until mixture thickens. Brush roast with glaze 2 or 3 times during the last hour of cooking.

Before serving, cut (or shred) your pork and drizzle remaining glaze over the meat. Top with some toasted sesame seeds.

DSC_0429

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “slow cooker balsamic glazed pork tenderloin

  1. RnR

    I will have to try out that glaze!

  2. Mmm, sounds good. I love discovering recipes on Pinterest!

  3. Is this the new lens? Pic looks great!

    • Surprisingly, it isn’t! I just decided to get down nice and low and take the pic from a different angle. turned out great! (though the lighting is still poor. even the new lens can’t fix my dark and dreary house!)

Leave a Reply

