thai green basil curry with chicken, asparagus and spinach


I haven’t blogged in a very, very long time. As much as I tried to stay on top of the blog, life got in the way.

In fact, life got in the way of life.

Late nights at work, crazy weeks of almost nightly extracurriculars, sickness and travel basically meant that I barely had time to cook decent meals, let alone have anything to blog about! I resorted to many picnic style meals and raiding my freezer stash of meals. Hey… I guess that’s what it was there for!

Things have finally started to settle down and I’ve managed to pull together some half-decent meals I’ve not yet shared here.

Last night, with the help of my three-year old, I whipped together this delicious Thai green basil curry with chicken, asparagus and spinach. I’m thrilled that asparagus is in season – it’s fresh, delicious, crispy and more importantly, cheap! I was able to snag 2 bunches for $3 this weekend! I suspect it will be a staple in our meals for a while… Or at least until the price starts going up again!

Thai green basil curry with chicken, asparagus and spinach
1 tsp canola oil
1 onion, cut into 1-inch chunks
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
10-12 medium asparagus spears, trimmed, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 tbsp Thai green curry paste
1 can coconut milk
2 tsp brown sugar
1 lime, juiced
2 tsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
6 oz baby spinach leaves (about 4 cups)
6-8 fresh basil leaves, roughly chopped – I used regular basil but Thai basil would be divine!

In sauce pan, frying pan or Dutch oven, heat the canola oil over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and the onion. Sauté until the chicken begins to brown. Add the asparagus and cook for another minute or so.

Add the curry paste and stir. Allow to cook for another 30 seconds or so. Add the coconut milk and stir until the curry paste has completely dissolved. Cover and simmer for about 10 minutes.

While the curry is simmering, combine the brown sugar, lime juice and soy sauce. Add to the pot and cook for 2 minutes.

Add the spinach and basil. Stir and cook until the spinach is just wilted.

Remove from heat and serve over rice.

DSC_0287

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “thai green basil curry with chicken, asparagus and spinach

  1. RnR

    Nice to see you back!

Leave a Reply

