salmon burgers with cilantro mayo


I’ve had this recipe pinned for ages and finally decided to whip it up! It’s from Annie’s eats site and I’m happy I finally got around to cooking it. We have salmon cakes somewhat regularly but I was intrigued by the cilantro mayo. It was a great touch. I’m glad I decided to make it!

I didn’t make too many changes to the recipe but did substitute salmon filets with canned boneless, skinless salmon. Because it was packed in water, I think the overall mixture was a bit too wet and I had a hard time forming patties. I added about 2 tbsp more Panko than the recipe calls for and that seemed to solve my patty-problems. I think I’ll toss in some more green onions and perhaps some diced celery to the mix next time, otherwise, this was a great dinner! I served it with a variation of Pioneer Woman’s cilantro coleslaw and some oven fries.

Salmon Burgers with Cilantro Mayo
1/2 cup bell pepper, diced
8 tbsp Panko bread crumbs
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cans water-packed salmon
1 large egg white, lightly beaten
1 1/2 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1/4 tsp kosher salt
2 tbsp canola oil

Cilantro mayo:
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 cup mayo
1/4 cup cilantro
Cayenne pepper to taste
Squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Combine the pepper, panko, garlic and salmon in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the egg white, soy sauce, lemon juice and salt. Add the liquid mixture to the salmon mixture and mix until well incorporated. Your hands make the best tools! Form into 4-6 equal patties.

Make the mayo by combining all the ingredients in your food processor. Pulse until the mixture is smooth.

Pour canola oil into a frying pan over medium-high heat. Heat until the oil is hot. Cook the patties, about 3-4 minutes per side, until cooked through.

Serve on buns (we used mini ciabatta buns!) and top with a generous portion of mayo, some lettuce, tomato and onion.

DSC_0459

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “salmon burgers with cilantro mayo

  1. RnR

    I’ve always wanted to try her slaw recipe with cilantro in it. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

