blueberry banana breakfast bars


I found a pint of blueberries in the fridge early Saturday morning and had to use them up that day or they’d spoil. I figured since it was coolish out and I hadn’t baked in a while, I’d use them up in some baking. I thought I’d make some blueberry muffins for breakfast the following week but wasn’t in the mood for muffins. I hopped on the computer and by mixing and mashing a few recipes together, I came up with these lovely breakfast bars. They’re really moist and pair perfectly with my morning cup of coffee.

Blueberry Banana Breakfast Bars
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp ground flax
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 ripe medium banana, mashed
1 tbsp canola oil
1 cup fresh blueberries

Heat your oven to 350F. Spray an 8×8 baking pan with some cooking spray or butter it up. Set aside.

In a medium-sized bowl, combine all your dry ingredients and set aside.

In the bowl of your mixer, combine the syrup, milk, vanilla, oil and bananas on medium-low speed until just mixed. Add your dry ingredients and mix on low until just combined. Slowly fold in your blueberries.

Bake pan in oven for about 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the bars comes ou clean.

Cool on a cooling rack and cut into bars.

Store in the refrigerator or freezer in an airtight container.

DSC_0503 copy

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “blueberry banana breakfast bars

  1. RnR

    I will have to give those a try!

Leave a Reply

