fresh cherry crumble


I thought it would be fun to make a dessert with cherries what with them being in season and all.  Then I realized I’d have to pit the cherries. “How hard could that be?” I thought to myself. A quick google search led me to a YouTube video which suggested using the paper clip method. Well, by the time I was done pitting 4 cups of red, overripe cherries, I was ready to stab myself in the eye repeatedly with that paper clip.

Some wise person told me you could buy fresh Ontario cherries which have already been pitted. I think that’s what I’ll do next time.

Once the cherries were ready, I didn’t much feel like baking anymore. So I settled for a pretty simple crumble recipe which I topped with some amazing homemade vanilla ice cream from a shop up the street! Sweet Olenka’s in Etobicoke seriously makes some of the world’s best ice cream. If you’re ever in town, check them out. You won’t regret it.

Fresh Cherry Crumble
4 cups , pitted cherries
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp white sugar
¾ cup lightly packed brown sugar
½ cup flour
4 tbsp cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
¾ cup old-fashioned oats
4 tbsp sliced almonds
¼ tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 375F.

Spray an oven-safe baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.

In a bowl, toss the cherries with lemon juice and sugar. Pour into baking dish.

In another large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Using your hands add the butter and mix until well incorporated. You want it to be pebbly and crumbly.

Spoon the topping (streusel, if you want to sound fancy) on top of the cherry mixture.

Bake for about 30-35 minutes until the topping is golden brown.

Serve with ice cream, whipped cream or creme anglaise. Enjoy!

DSC_0529 cropped

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “fresh cherry crumble

  1. RnR

    Pitting all those cherries would have made me crazy! Kind of like getting the juice out of a billion key limes.

  2. I just found you on buzzle.ca! This looks delicious, what a great way to use up cherries.

  3. Hubby loves cherries. I should totally make this for him!

Leave a Reply

