buttermilk pancakes


Oh buttermilk pancakes? How did I ever live without you? I don’t know how I did not know about buttermilk pancakes until now but from now own, they’re all I’ll ever make. Fluffy, light and full of flavour… Perfection!

I discovered this recipe about a month ago while I was looking for ways to use up a litre of buttermilk I’d purchased for a recipe that only needed approximately 3/4’s of a cup’s worth. I was so surprised and impressed at how lovely the recipe turned out. So were the kids, I thin. They have demanded pancakes every weekend ever since I first made them.

This recipe makes a pretty large batch, but I make it on the weekends and keep the batter in the fridge so I can whip up some quick pancakes for breakfast during the week.

Buttermilk Pancakes
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp sugar
2 large eggs, beaten
2 1/2 cups buttermilk (If you don’t have any buttermilk on hand, add 1 tbsp of vinegar to every 1 cup of milk and allow to stand for 5-10 minutes)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Heat your pan over medium heat.

Whisk together your flour, baking powder & soda, salt and sugar. Add eggs, buttermilk and vanilla extract. Whisk to combine, but don’t overmix. You want some small lumps in there!

Use a 1/4 cup measure to dole out your batter. Cook until the pancakes have bubbles on top and the edges are slightly dry. Flip over and cook another minute or so, until the bottoms are golden too. Serve with a pat of butter on top and some warm maple syrup.

DSC_0272_edited-1

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “buttermilk pancakes

  1. Sam

    Another tip if you want more of that yummy “tangy” flavour from the buttermilk, but don’t want to thin your batter, is to add 1-2 Tbsp of full fat sour cream. So, so good.

  2. Oh so yummy!!! Will have to get A to make me some of these next weekend!!!

  3. Pingback: raspberry swirl buttermilk pancakes | mealtime mayhem

Leave a Reply

