beef stroganoff


Beef Stroganoff is such a comfort food for me. I have fond memories of my mom making it for us growing up, but I also remember it somehow originating from a can or two of condensed soup. I try to steer clear of the canned soups due to their sodium content, but I did decide to whip this recipe up using conveniently pre-made meatballs. If I wasn’t so rushed, I probably would have used a nice piece of beef tenderloin to make this, but by using the meatballs, I had dinner on the table in less than a half hour. You just can’t beat the convenience in this case.

To come up with this recipe, I read through a few others and mixed and matched various ingredients that sounded like they’d be yummy together. The end result was delicious! The flavours were just right, the perfect balance of rich without being heavy. I even witnessed one of the boys licking their plate clean!

Beef (meatball) Stroganoff
1 package frozen meatballs, prepared as per the cooking instructions
2 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, chopped (the next time I make this I may use shallots instead! I think they would be an excellent alternate ingredient)
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tsp paprika
1 lb white button mushrooms, sliced
3 tbsp dry sherry
1 cup low-sodium beef broth
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
Salt & pepper to taste
Cooked, large egg noodles
Freshly chopped parsley for garnish

In a large pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion & garlic and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Sprinkle with paprika and cook another minute or so.

Add mushrooms and saute until browned and the liquid has evaporated, about 8-10 minutes.

Add sherry and deglaze your pan. Keep cooking until slightly reduced. Add broth & and stir. Simmer for a few minutes until the sauce just covers the mushroom & onion mixture.

Stir in sour cream and add meatballs. Simmer until everything is heated through. Serve over cooked egg noodles and sprinkle with parsley. Enjoy!

DSC_0040

I realize you can’t really *see* the mushrooms in this picture, but they’re there. I promise.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “beef stroganoff

  1. stroganoff is cool… and thanks for sharing yours.. dig the meatball touch.. Thanks! http://cookingwithmrfitz.com/?s=stroganoff&x=0&y=0

  2. This looks tasty. Where were you a few weeks ago when I had left over roast and tried to make stroganoff. It was not my best…of course realizing after you start that you don’t have sour cream (or greek yogurt) or egg noodles..kinda puts a damper on the dish.

Leave a comment